Please check out my other blogs, Solomon's Conservative Wisdom, Solomon's Conservative Wisdom II, and
Solomon's Conservative Wisdom at and tell me what you think.

Historical Facts

July 2010

Current Health Issues

I am currently having health issues for information and to possibly help see here, My Recent Health Issue.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Feds May Raise Driving Age for Teens

The ever encroaching power of the federal government is now reaching for the driving age for teens or more accurately what the States may set as the minimum driving age for a learner’s permit and a standard drivers license.

So why is this important? Because States like New York and New Jersey have a problem with States like Nebraska, Idaho, Iowa, and Kansas which allows a teen driver to get a learner’s permit at 14, these rural states due to the fact kids learn to drive at 12-13 on the farm have decided their residents are capable of getting a learner’s at that younger age. But States like New Jersey want the federal government to force their rules on these other states, so why is this important its in the same field as taxes if New Jersey can get the federal government to force Georgia to raise the age for a learner’s permit and a standard drivers license what would stop them from going back to that same federal government if to many New Jersey residents are moving to Georgia due to their high taxes to force Georgia to raise their taxes to match New Jerseys in fairness.

One of the things that make the United States so great is in the name, States, each State is the member of the Republic in exchange for giving up certain powers such as militaries and coinage over to the federal government they became members of a United States, each still independent with their own rights and powers and all equal in that government. Why do you think each state gets two senators, so the others could not vote over the others and force their laws on the smaller states.

The fact that some want to raise the driving age up to 21 or higher is even more disturbing to me, do these people realize if yo do that these teens and other will be required to have an adult with a standard drivers license to get around, I think a lot of parents would like to do a Homer Simpson to them. Would they like to volunteer their time to ride around with these people until they get their standard drivers license?

If you would like to read more see the following stories, Auto safety group: States should raise driving age, and Feds May Raise Driving Age for Teens.

Solomon's Conservative Wisdom

P.S. Incase anyone is curious about representatives are intended to represent the people of their state, not the states themselves.

And if anyone is curious I am Thirty, and not effected by any changes that have been suggested.

Also I include below a list of the ages for getting a learner’s permit and a standard drivers license, in the full page due to its length. Also I do agree with some that the months need to be dropped and go with even years instead.

14 years: Alaska, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, North Dakota, and South Dakota, South Carolina

14 years, 3 months: Nebraska

14 years, 6 months: Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming

14 years, 8 months: Michigan, Georgia

15 years: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota,
Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas,
Utah, Vermont, Washington, and West Virginia

15 years, 6 months: Arizona, California, Hawaii, New York, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Virginia,
and Wisconsin

15 years, 9 months: Maryland

16 years: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Kentucky, Massachusetts, New York
Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island

Learner's permits do not exist in New Hampshire. Teenagers may drive with adult supervision
after reaching 15 years, 6 months.

To obtain a restricted license, the driver must be the minimum age for testing and have had his or
her permit for the required duration. A computerized knowledge test is first required. After that is
passed, a 6 hrs drive test is given over a two day period. It consists of driving around a residential
neighborhood. There are no hazard tests. If you fail the test, you must usually wait to retake it.
Here is a list of the minimum ages in each state in which a restricted license (driver may drive
alone, but with restrictions): Drivers may not obtain a passenger up till turning 17. After turning
legal age a driver that is atleast 17 may drive with passengers(restrictions apply until turning 18).

14 years, 3 months: South Dakota

14 years, 6 months: North Dakota

15 years: Idaho, Kansas, and Nebraska

15 years, 6 months: Mississippi New Mexico, Virginia and South Carolina

16 years: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois,
Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire,
North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West
Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming

16 years, 3 months: Maryland, and Virginia

16 years, 6 months: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Indiana, Kentucky,
Massachusetts, New York (excluding NYC), Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island

17 years: New Jersey and New York City

18 years: Puerto Rico

Here is the list of the ages in each state where a full license may be obtained. No additional
driving test is required to obtain one. A full license is usually given after having a restricted
license for six months to a year or reaching age 18, whichever is sooner.

No restricted license (driver automatically starts with full license after passing test)
Arizona, Minnesota, North Dakota

16 years: Idaho, Kansas, Mississippi, and Nebraska

16 years, 6 months: Georgia, Arkansas, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas,
Utah, Vermont, and Wyoming

16 years, 9 months: Wisconsin

17 years: California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Iowa, Louisiana,
Michigan, Missouri, New York, South Carolina, Tennessee, Washington, and West Virginia

17 years, 3 months: Virginia

17 years, 6 months: Rhode Island

17 years, 9 months: Maryland

18 years: Alaska, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts,
Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, and Pennsylvania

No comments:

Post a Comment